Christian? D-I-V-O-R-C-E Tammy Wynette 1968 hit

The 2nd annual Country Music Awards in 1968. Tammy Wynette takes home the female vocalist trophy with the help of the hit, “D-I-V-O-R-C-E.” Telecast from Nashville’s historic Ryman Auditorium. Isn’t it ironic that such a song should became a hit and in 1968, what is the world coming too. However, before November of 2009 I previously like the catchy tune and the southern twang of Tammy Wynette who is truly an vocal artist in the era of country music that we just do not have with todays music. After experiencing divorce with the devastation that it brings to every family member and no one is immune to the sting of it. I somewhat feel differently now than what I did then for if I had the opportunity to turn back the hands of time along with the knowledge that has been given me, my marriage to a woman given to me by God would have been a totally different ending to the story I now know. I can clearly understand the heart of God concerning the matter of D-I-O-R-C-E-.

Malachi 2:15 (NIV) Has not [the Lord] made them one? In flesh and spirit they are his. And why one? Because he was seeking godly offspring. So guard yourself in your spirit, and do not break faith with the wife of your youth.

Malachi 2:16 (NIV) “I hate divorce,” says the Lord God of Israel, “and I hate a man’s covering himself with violence as well as with his garment,” says the Lord Almighty. So guard yourself in your spirit, and do not break faith.

How many Christians have let down their guard and broke their faith with the wife of their youth? I know of one who did and that was me, my wife and I were of one flesh one spirit with God, we raised children who became Christians at a very young age of 6 and 4. I admit I that I failed and broke my family, broke that bonding that only a man and wife can have. This was hard for me to admit in  the beginning and God forgives and forgets however the pain is still there to all involved. God’s healing in such matters takes time, takes counsel, takes prayer and takes the reading of God’s word, but eventually healing does come to the heart. Now I am thankful and humbled that God has continued this process in me.

Divorce no matter if you spell it or speak it still hurts the same and no one comes out the winner. Devastation, accusations, blaming, shouting, anger, bitterness, and revenge are traits not uncommon with the world that we live in. Its sad but it seems every family ancestry has at least one broken home. However, to have these extremely hurtful traits within the home of a Christian is a paradox, for “God so loved the world that he gave” in John 3:16 is the very essence of love and who God is. So, for those who believe in God, believe in His word, and believe he is the very epitome of love, for the very ones who call themselves Christians to even bring it up in a marriage let alone go through with it is an extreme paradox, unacceptable even contradictory to all we stand for and believe in. For if we cannot truly love the gift that God has given us in human form how can we love him who is spirit. Those who are contemplating D-I-V-O-R-C-E please consider all the variables before going through it and exhaust all your resources at your disposal before finalizing it. Please consider these words from a man who is now on the other side of divorce who is telling you divorce is not the answer. The hurt you will cause, will cost you and those you love more than you can imagine. No one can make up for the loss only Christ can heal and restore what you will destroy.

Intimacy With Christ,

Richard W. Wafford

Leave a Reply

